Student Musings – Sarah, Peter, Elora and Jennifer

This semester, we are happy to host four students from our local post-secondary institutions who are able to get hands-on experience in the workplace while offering valuable assistance where we need the help.  Read on to meet our four students, Sarah, Peter, Elora and Jennifer!

c2d6gqiukaeqm37My Name is Sarah Kalina and I’m a field placement student here at the museum. I am attending Durham College to complete my Library and Information Technician Diploma. Completing my field placement will wrap up my final requirement for graduation. I am here in the archives working under Jennifer. I have been tasked with reorganizing the photograph collection both physically and digitally as to keep specific subjects together. The biggest reorganization I have done is 294 photographs for the Lowry Lakeview Park collection. It is interesting to see how the picture collection is organized and reorganized and I am happy to be a part of the process.

All of the staff here at Oshawa Museum are extremely knowledgeable and welcoming. I am grateful for all of the information I am gaining just from being here let alone the skills I am developing/honing. I am excited for the rest of time here and the experience I will gain.

 

img_2118Hello, my name is Peter McKenzie.  I am an intern here at the Oshawa Museum, and a student/graduate from Trent University.  After graduating in 2016 with a degree in Anthropology, I am currently taking a one year Marketing and Entrepreneurship program at Trent Durham.  I have always enjoyed learning about various cultures and histories of the world, and once I heard that the Oshawa Museum was accepting interns, I jumped at the chance!  I’ve lived in Durham (specifically Whitby) for most of my life, yet have never really learned much of the area’s history.  Working at the museum, I get a chance to not only assist, but to learn about Oshawa’s history as I do so.

Ever since I began studying Anthropology, I have had my heart set on working in a museum, and the staff here has been very kind and accommodating to allow me a well-rounded experience.  So far, I have assisted in poster designs, podcast production, and artifact accession, with more plans in the future.  I have certainly been enjoying my internship here, and I look forward to the rest of my time here at the Oshawa Museum!

 

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

My name is Elora Andrews and I am a student at Durham College in Oshawa, Ontario, in the Library and Information Technician program. I am currently attending the museum for 8 hours a week and loving every minute of it. This museum is adorable and the archivists here are amazing and so much fun!

I am currently working on an e-book which I hope to have finished in a few weeks, so stay tuned!

 

 

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetI am Jennifer Floyd, a second year student at Durham College in the Library and Information Technician program. As a placement student, I get to hang around the archive once a week and do some research – I promise it’s not as dull as it sounds. I get to learn about Oshawa’s past and help put together projects (publications, websites, etc) so others can learn as well. I’ve always loved history, and being able to mix that into my program at the college is a fantastic opportunity I didn’t think possible.

Since my placement is in the archive, I don’t have a huge opportunity to spend time in the museum itself. However, that’s where my favourite things are (that I’ve seen so far anyways). The museum has an amazing collection of clothing – dresses, suits, shirts, and, oh, the shoes! I could probably spend a few hours (read: days) with that collection.

I’ve only just begun my placement, and I’m definitely looking forward to seeing what else the museum and archive has to offer – there’s so much here, I doubt I’ll be able to see it all before I’m done.

Leave a Reply

