Student Museum ‘Musings’ – Kaitlin

By Kaitlin B., Co-Op Student

My name is Kaitlin and I am student from the CICE program at Durham College. The times that I am here are on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I started my time here three weeks ago and so far it’s a great experience. Some of the duties that I do here at the Oshawa Museum are documenting artefacts, help run tours around the museum, complete computer work on the museum’s website and cleaning the Guy house store, the other houses and the artefacts.

img_1084

Kaitlin in the Henry House Kitchen

I enjoy the tasks that I do here but my personal favourite thing to do is to is to clean the museum houses and the artefacts that are inside them with either members of the staff here of on my own. I enjoy the peace and quiet of the museum and if I’m by myself, the ghosts here don’t bother me. My favourite house here is the Robinson House because of the rich history of the house and it hold my favourite exhibit, the First Nations Exhibit.  I find the First Nation exhibit interesting because its fascinating to learn how they lived and to learn about their culture.  That is it for my first blog and there will be many more to come through out my experience here.

Leave a Reply

