The Host Files – The Gift of Play

THIS BLOG SERIES COMES FROM OUR DEDICATED AND AWESOME VISITOR HOST STAFF, AND TOPICS RANGE FROM FAVOURITE ARTIFACTS, THOUGHTS ON OUR LATEST EXHIBITS, AND ANYTHING ELSE IN BETWEEN!

By Carmela D., Visitor Host

When I was a child, my favourite toy was my red Easy Bake Oven.  It’s exciting to think back at those simpler days.  I would plug it in my playroom’s “House” section, in anticipation of playing “grown-up” and creating a scrumptious dessert.  I would often bake chocolate cakes.  I would serve them on my play dishes. I would then wash all of my dishes in the kitchen sink.  I felt like I was a mini version of my mom, who spent a lot of time in the kitchen.

easybakeoven copy.jpg

Today, my daughter has a purple Easy Bake Oven and we spend time together baking, sometimes even with her friends.  The baking options have expanded from simple cakes to layered cookies, cake pops, cupcakes, and more.  It seems more complicated from when I was little, but it is still a fun way to play the “Mommy” role.

Interestingly, I don’t really bake in my adult life, but I hang onto those fond memories in my playroom and cherish the continued Easy Bake memories with my precious daughter. My son is more than welcome to join us, but he generally chooses not to.  Perhaps it instilled a confidence in me and love of the kitchen because I am a really good cook and seem to entertain a lot.


On display until April 2016: The Gift of Play: Toys of Yesterday

Poster copy.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

