Student Museum Musings – Lauren

By Lauren R., High School Co-op Student

So far in my 3 short months of co-op I have done more things than I could ever hope to be involved with in a co-op placement. Every day brings me a new challenge, albeit that some of those challenges are more difficult than others. I never begrudge them no matter how tricky they prove to be as they bring me a new skill. More often than not though the days at the museum are quiet, and I am generally working on a computer. Even these days yield an interesting time, and upon occasion these days of typing are split up by the appearance of a tour. There are many things that make the placement great; one is most definitely the people, they are an interesting and eclectic group and it is easy to see that they are genuinely good people. Another thing that makes the placement great is that on occasion I get the opportunity to assist with the changing of exhibits, be it putting things away, taking things down, creating signage for the new event, or bringing things into the exhibit. Another thing I greatly enjoy, although I wasn’t completely sure of it at the beginning of my placement, is leading tours through the houses. On these occasions I get to talk to different and interesting people, and through this interaction I get to learn something new. I really do love everything about my co-op placement; it is really a golden opportunity and every day I look forward to getting to come back and see what the day holds for me. It is better than I ever could have hoped.

Lauren posing for a 21st Century Victorian photo in Henry House - for more on this photo project by our co-op students, visit http://2015victorians.tumblr.com/

Lauren posing for a 21st Century Victorian photo in Henry House – for more on this photo project by our co-op students, visit 2015victorians.tumblr.com

P.S. there are lots of squirrels which is a definite bonus

IMG_3466

Leave a Reply

