Student Museum Musings – Jodie

By Jodie, Collections Assistant Co-op Student

I have been at the Oshawa Community Museum as my co-op placement for almost five months, and it has been the most amazing experience that I have ever had. I have learnt many new things and had opportunities that were very exciting.

994.28.32x - 'At Rest', from the Farewell Cemetery archaeological collection

994.28.32x – ‘At Rest’, from the Farewell Cemetery archaeological collection

 

I was given the assignments of cataloging the Farewell Pioneer Cemetery artefacts and the archaeology collection that is in Robinson House (from the Grandview Archaeological Site). While cataloguing both of these collections took up most of my time here, I also was able to other things around the museum: myself and Melissa set up a display case for Archaeology Day, I’ve helped her set up a display that was being lent out to a nursing reunion, I went with Melissa to a donor’s house for a possible donation to one of her collections, and other things to take a small break from data entry.

Jodie with the display case she 'curated' for International Archaeology Day in October

Jodie with the display case she ‘curated’ for International Archaeology Day in October

And so it is with much gratitude that I thank all of the lovely people that are at the museum for this wonderful experience and making everyday one full of new information  learn.

 

Many thanks, Jodie, for all of your hard work and dedication this semester! We’ve all enjoyed working with you, and all the best for your future studies!

Leave a Reply

