Student Museum ‘Musings’ – Victoria

Henry House, Oshawa

Henry House, Oshawa

Hello to all, my name is Victoria Nelimarkka; I’m a first year student at Durham College in the Library and Information Technician Program. This is my first job shadow; I have chosen to shadow Jennifer here at the museum.  I hope to learn about the history of Oshawa, archival methods working with databases and how to answer research questions, as I imagine the research method is a little different then what I’m use to at the public libraries. My goals at the end of this Field Experience program are to have a greater understanding of archives, how they work, and how they receive some of their materials. This is a good fit for me as I would enjoy working in museum or an archive when I have completed my course. (I’m little bit of a history nut) They have been really welcoming here at the museum, and have shown me all kinds of cool things. My favourite so far is the Henry House; it looks like they just left.   I’m looking forward to using the data base to add and create records for pictures and archives.  If you see me here say hi and tell me your story. Happy Halloween to all.  All of these pictures I have use are from the collection.

File723

Leave a Reply

