Student Museum ‘Musings’ – Kelley

My name is Kelley and I am a co-op student at the Oshawa Community Museum. Basically what I do as a co-op student is research a lot. I research about the Museums, about Ontario’s past, and recently historic fun facts about Christmas. I also help out with social media. I schedule blog posts for Victorianadvent.wordpress.com and take my researched information and turn them into twitter and facebook posts. Another thing I do as a co-op student is give tours of the Robinson and Henry house with Lisa or Jen there to help if I get stuck with certain information.

Inside Henry House - photo by Kelley

Inside Henry House – photo by Kelley

 

I have most definitely learned a lot by doing co-op at the Oshawa Community Museum. I’ve gotten better with remembering dates and getting a better idea for time periods, I’ve got a chance to learn about how the newspapers dating back to 1864 were written and I got a better idea of how to use programs and make media lists. It’s cool being able to use machinery such as a Microfilm Scanner and look at all the old papers. I really like being able to learn new things and then having the freedom to take that knowledge and write however I want with it. I’m really interested in film and design, so seeing all the old cameras and footage was amazing. I was really excited when I was able to take the old footage and make a practice promotional video with it. It’s really fun doing co-op at the Oshawa Museum because not only do I learn new things and get to use social media, but because everyone working here is really nice and are always there to help.

Leave a Reply

